Beta You're viewing our redesigned school list. Prefer the classic layout?

Hampden Charter School of Science (District)


At a glance
132ndof 351 Massachusetts districts▲ 25
Better than 62% of Massachusetts districts
High 1Grades 6-12
20 Johnson Road
Chicopee, MA 01022
·(413) 593-9090·All Massachusetts district rankings →
Statewide performance 2019–2026
2026: better than 62.4% of districts
1
School
938
Students
Top rankedHampden Charter School of Science85th of 353 Massachusetts high schools
▲
Biggest riser
Hampden Charter School of Science up 21 spots statewide this year
Summary:

Hampden Charter School of Science (District) is a single-school district in Chicopee, Massachusetts, with one high school, Hampden Charter School of Science, serving grades 6–12 and 938 students. The district reports 1 high school, 0 elementary, 0 middle, and 0 alternative schools, so district-level figures mirror the school's figures. Available data covers rank history for 2023–24 through 2025–26, 2024–25 graduation and dropout rates, 2024–25 and 2025–26 MCAS results, 2020–21 per-student spending, and a 2024–25 student/teacher ratio; free/reduced lunch is not reported.

The school’s most positive trend is its accountability rank: it rose from 184 of 348 (47th percentile, 2 stars) in 2023–24 to 106 of 349 (70th, 3 stars) in 2024–25, then to 85 of 353 (76th, 4 stars) in 2025–26. Tenth grade is the strongest academic bright spot in 2025–26: ELA 74.07% proficient vs state 45.48%, math 58.09% vs 43.73%, and science 60.17% vs 40.50%. Sixth-grade math is also above state at 50.36% vs 42.59%. For 2024–25, the graduation rate is 94.0% and the dropout rate is 3.4%. Overall science is close to state (39.86% vs 40.98%), as is overall ELA (39.49% vs 40.03%).

Middle-school math is the main concern. In 2025–26, 7th-grade math is 22.30% vs state 37.48%, 8th-grade math is 27.70% vs 41.67%, and overall math is 33.25% vs 41.11%. Eighth-grade civics is also below state (29.45% vs 39.77%). Biology moved from 52.94% in 2024–25 to 35.48% in 2025–26, though the labels differ, and overall ELA slipped from 43.19% in 2024–25 to 39.49% in 2025–26. The “All Grades” totals for ELA, math, and science in 2025–26 closely track the middle-school grades rather than 10th grade, so they should not be read as a simple all-school average including 10th grade. Parent context is limited because free/reduced lunch is not reported and spending data is from 2020–21; the 12.2 student/teacher ratio is favorable but lacks state or peer comparison here.

Ranking:
Map legend
E Elementary M Middle H High A Alternative P Private




Districts nearby

See the top MA Massachusetts districts
SchoolDigger data sources: National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education, the U.S. Census Bureau and the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMERS: Not all boundaries are included. We make every effort to ensure that boundaries are up-to-date. But it's important to note that these are approximations and are for general informational purposes only. To verify legal descriptions of boundaries or school locations, contact your local tax assessor's office and/or school district.

Diagnostics