Summary:
Horizon Science Academy Dayton High School is the only school in the Horizon Science Academy Dayton High School district, a charter school serving grades 6–12 at 250 Shoup Mill Rd in Dayton, with about 300 students, a 12:1 student–teacher ratio, and roughly 43 students per grade.
Academically, the school sits in Ohio's bottom tenth of high schools, ranking 716 of 795 (10th percentile) in 2025–26 after reaching the 21st percentile in 2023–24. All 25 reported test results across both years fall below the state average, with the average gap near 33 points in 2025–26. The widest shortfall is 8th grade Science at 12.2% proficient versus a state figure of 61.2%, a 49-point gap; 8th grade Math is also 12.2% versus 52.0%. The narrowest gaps are Geometry (32.4% vs. 43.3%) and 7th grade ELA (50% vs. 62.7%), the school's highest absolute result in either year. Eight of twelve common assessments improved year over year, led by 7th grade ELA (+24.2 points), Geometry (+21.5), and 6th grade Math (+12.6), though English II, 8th grade Science, and American Government declined.
Two outcomes stand out for parents. The graduation rate is 93.1% while chronic absenteeism is 67.8% — the same year, 2025–26 — meaning roughly two of every three students miss enough school to be chronically absent even as nearly all graduate. That combination suggests students are earning credits without demonstrating proficiency on state exams, so the graduation rate alone may not signal academic readiness; the absenteeism rate and the 8th grade achievement floor are the clearest places to ask questions. Note also that free/reduced lunch is not reported, per-student spending of $8,324 dates to 2018–19, and American History was not reported for 2025–26. With about 43 students per grade, year-to-year swings of double digits can reflect a handful of students, so read single-year changes with caution.
Thank you for your feedback!